The ABB FIA Formula E World Championship is coming up after the updated schedule for the debut in Cape Town


The ABB FIA Formula E World Championship will be held in Cape Town, South Africa for the first time on February 25, 2023 after being approved by the FIA ​​World Motor Sport Council today.

Cape Town joins Hyderabad, India and Sao Paulo, Brazil as new cities set to host season 9 of the ABB FIA Formula E World Championship, which opens in Mexico City on January 14, 2023.

In further updates to the preliminary Season 9 calendar, Berlin will now host a double-header race weekend on April 22nd and 23rd, while the two races previously announced for Seoul have been dropped from the calendar. Venues for Rounds 10 and 13 of the 17-race season are currently being finalized and will be announced at a later date.

Season 9 marks the beginning of the Gen3 era in Formula E. The third generation of racing cars in the championship, the Gen3 is the fastest, lightest, most powerful and most efficient electric racing car ever built.

Alberto Longo, Formula E Co-Founder and Chief Championship Officer, said: “We are delighted to announce Cape Town as a new destination for our Series 9 season. Our local partners are working incredibly hard to bring an ABB FIA Formula E World Championship race to the city and we can’t wait to see the futuristic Gen3 racers compete against the iconic natural backdrop of Table Mountain.

“Renovation work at Seoul Olympic Stadium, the venue for our first races in South Korea earlier this year, means we will not be able to return to the same location next season as originally planned and are therefore evaluating other options in South Korea to replace this venue. We are also in active discussions with additional cities and venues around the world to host an event on the alternate date with no confirmed location.”

Calendar season 9
Round) location Events)
1 Mexico City, Mexico* January 14, 2023
2 & 3 Diriyah, Saudi Arabia January 27 & 28, 2023
4 Hyderabad, India* February 11, 2023
5 Cape Town, South Africa* February 25, 2023
6 Sao Paulo, Brazil* March 25, 2023
7 & 8 Berlin, Germany April 22 & 23, 2023
9 Monaco May 6, 2023
10 open May 20, 2023
11 & 12 Jakarta, Indonesia June 3 & 4, 2023
13 open June 24, 2023
14 & 15 Rome, Italy July 15 & 16, 2023
16 & 17 London, United Kingdom July 29 & 30, 2023

*Subject to FIA homologation

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *